Energizing Emmy

One of the best/worst things about reporting is that you never know what you’re going to face with each new day.

Last Friday, my 10Beard photographer Tim Hahn and I were ambushed with water balloons during a shoot.

IMG_1969

While it was mostly a harmless prank, it’s one of those things that leaves you thinking “Why do I put up with this s***?!”

The next night, it was time to get ready for the Pacific Southwest Emmy Awards. An Emmy Award is an American award that recognizes excellence in the television industry. I was nominated in the “On-Camera Talent – Reporter” category, my first individual Emmy nomination, so I was beyond thrilled and nervous! Click here to view my submission. I got all dolled up (sidenote: I bought this dress for $20 at a secondhand store three years ago when I lived in Oklahoma City “just in case I ever needed a formal dress.” I’ve literally been carting it around the country with me waiting for a night like this! Bargain shopping paying off!), forced my husband Crosby to wear a tux and off we went!

My category was announced about an hour and a half in, and it was the most exciting, awful, nerve-wracking, wonderful experience ever. I was so nervous I didn’t touch any of the food served.

Long story short, not only did I win, but so did two of my co-workers from 10News! This is my favorite picture, a candid of Brian Shlonksy, Joe Little, and me hugging right after the announcements.

IMG_2101

Brian won in the anchor category, and Joe and I won for our reporting.

I literally don’t remember what I said, but I do owe a lot to my amazing news director Tiffani Lupenski for hiring me, believing in me, polishing me, and helping me get better throughout the two years I’ve been at KGTV.

I also love this guy for not giving up on me when I was super discouraged and considered throwing in the towel on a news career. It was an honor to win in the same category as Joe Little.

I’m a big believer in signs. Even though my trip to the storytelling workshop in Salt Lake City had re-energized me, this night was the final test I had challenged the universe to show me: if I lost, I would take a step back; if I won, I would go full force ahead. IMG_2064Obviously, someone wanted to make it clear that I shouldn’t quit haha!

My station cleaned house: 10News won more statuettes than any other station in the region.

Sometimes you have to take the bad with the good, because the good is never worth missing out on.

IMG_2106

2 thoughts on “Energizing Emmy

Leave a Reply

