LOVELY LAGOON

Anyone who has ever thought about a trip to Iceland has without a doubt looked up the Blue Lagoon.

The Blue Lagoon is a geothermal spa nestled in the middle of a lava field.

I recommend booking theย premium experience (about $85) since it includes slippers, bathrobe, free drinks, and a reservation at theirย Lava Restaurant. Don’t skip the restaurant; it was literally some of the best food I ate while I was in Iceland! BONUS: you can go to dinner in your bathrobe, no judgements.

I had kind of freaked myself out about the process you are required to go through to get into the lagoon; I’d read horror stories from other bloggers about having to shower naked (required before you put on your swim suit and get into the water) in front of a bunch of other people. I was ready to bare-all prison style by the time we got there, but it turned out there were plenty of private showers and stalls. Yay!

Kim and I washed with the required soap, left a bunch of conditioner in our hair (the silica in the lagoon is good for the skin, but not for the hair), and dove in!

I can’t even describe how beautiful and relaxing this day was.

thumb_IMG_0319_1024

We put on free silica and algae masks, but I didn’t have my camera out for that part!

SIDE NOTE: You can buy a waterproof camera case at the swim up bar. I figured that out after our second drink, so I bought one and then went and grabbed my phone out of my locker. It was awesome!

I scheduled about two hours in the lagoon before we had to get out and go to dinner at Lava, but honestly I wish we could have just kept floating around! The best part about buying your ticket is you can stay as long as you want.

This was my favorite experience in Iceland, hands down.

thumb_IMG_0236_1024

 

2 thoughts on “LOVELY LAGOON

    1. The food was good! Definitely different from American food. A lot of soup and sea food. I tried the whale and puffin and that was….different. But all in all very good! If you go you MUST try the Icelandic hot dogs!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

